top of page

The cold bath: everyone is talking about it!

Articles in the press, audio-visual reports, new world records. For several years now, the press has been talking about it every winter and people's enthusiasm continues to grow. I myself was interviewed for the magazine Générations (to discover here)! More and more curious people are trying this practice, with varying degrees of success. Alone or with friends, with your yoga teacher or by following a Youtube tutorial.
 

Everything is said, everything is told, but what is it really?

DSC00091.JPG

What is the cold bath?

The cold bath, also called winter bath, consists of bathing in very cold water, generally a lake in winter, below 10 degrees. The cold bath is practiced in a group, even if practicing alone is not prohibited, it requires certain knowledge of the functioning of one's body to understand how to secure yourself properly.

This will be the objective of the first session of the initiation and its theory video. At the end of this first session, you will know why 1 minute per degree is not a sufficient security protocol. We will see together other physiological benchmarks that allow you to graduate the duration and strength of your swim.

cold bath pictograms.png

But we risk getting sick?!

The cold does not make you sick. It causes people to lock themselves in confined spaces and at 22 degrees. At this temperature, the transmission of germs is favored, and woolen clothes retain moisture better, thus allowing better propagation. The more layers we have, the more we offer a cozy nest to germs of all kinds. In addition, winter (season of rest according to nature...) the stress of work and the lack of sun favor depressed states which weaken the immune response.

On the other hand, discovering your skin on a sunny winter morning promotes the production of vitamin D and UV rays eliminate pathogens on the surface of the skin. Doing it in a group promotes the production of serotonin and other neurohormones. As for the cold bath, it strengthens the immune system. This will be the subject of the second video and the second session.

DSC00125.JPG

Each person is psychologically and physiologically different. And if the course is given in a group, it is because the group is important. The cold bath requires a certain letting go of one's preconceptions, one's beliefs, one's abilities. This is also why it helps to resolve post-traumatic states. Our heart is an organ that rhythms with our psychic states. Learning to calm it down means learning to control yourself. How does it work? This will be the subject of our third session.

I can't do it, it's impossible!

les6pictos4.png

Meditation and heart coherence

The fourth session will be dedicated to the nervous system, meditation, mindset. A cold bath outing is not complete without this special moment. Meditation in a cold situation is a particular meditation, but after 4 days of adapting and learning you will be ready enough for this experience. On the fifth day will be there to show me that you no longer need me.

DSC09965.JPG

A little history

Cold bathing has always been practiced, if only because hot water from the tap is a comfort that arrived in the 1960s. Throughout history, taking a hot bath has been considered a luxury.

In 377 BC, Hippocrates already taught his students the virtues of alternating hot and cold depending on the patient's condition.

In Rome, the first thermal baths are cold. It was with the advent of Imperial Rome that hot and cold baths made their appearance and with this revolution the development of diseases such as leprosy. Hygiene is very important for the Romans, but hot water + a large number of people in the same place and in the same water inevitably lead to the spread of pathogens. For us, it would be inconceivable to set foot in a Roman bath because it would seem so unhealthy.

bainfroid-kneipp.webp

In Europe, medical treatises talking about the cold are present throughout history. The method changes and evolves according to medical theories (theory of humors, miasmas, etc.) and according to changes in society.

The first scientific treatises on the therapeutic practice of cold appear around the 18th century. It is a German, Johann Siegmund Hahn, who will publish in 1738 "Lesson on the power and the effectiveness of cold water on the human body, in particular the diseases in internal and external use".

In the 19th century, it was Sebastian Kneipp, a monk who succeeded in treating his tuberculosis with the help of cold, who published "Ma cure d'eau" (My water cure) in 1886. This writing will be distributed throughout Europe. He will also found a clinic and his centers will multiply, thus making known his method. Today, his name is unfortunately synonymous with brand and we are very far from the original thought of the author.

Nowadays, many methods can be taught; the Tummo/Toumo, the Wim Hof method, the Kneipp method, and a whole lot of things are said and told. It is through readings, experiments and experiences of my practice as a cold bath initiation teacher for 3 years, that I have developed my method over 5 sessions, each bringing an important aspect of the practice, in order to to experiment with the method and its benefits.

 

What matters is what you will experience for yourself!

Contraindications to the practice of the cold bath

The practice of cold is not without effect on the body. As much when a body is in good health, the practice of cold poses no problem and is even a major tool for prevention. As much in a body already tired by the fight against the disease or a strong chronic stress, the reactions can sometimes be spectacular. This requires increased vigilance on my part to follow you and it is up to us to do everything we can to ensure that these manifestations, these rebalancing crises take place in the best conditions.

If in doubt about your condition, please contact me directly.

Cold bath practice under medical supervision

Any pathology that requires taking medication requires authorization from your doctor to be able to register for the initiation. All these personal situations must be reported. You can contact me to decide together on a beneficial approach to your condition, whether in initiation or in the office with complementary treatments. 

List of contraindications requiring medical approval

  • Autoimmune disease

  • Diabetes type 1 & 2

  • Herniated disc

  • Asthma

  • Gastrointestinal disease

  • Heart disease stabilized

  • Mental illness followed
  • History of thrombosis & flexitis

  • Any other chronic illness involving medication

Absolute contraindications

  • Ongoing chemotherapy treatment

  • Chronic illness not followed by a doctor
  • Decompensated cardiovascular system

  • Disease of the ventilatory system 

Mental illness not monitored

  • Viral & bacterial disease in treatment

bottom of page

Le bain froid : tout le monde en parle !

Des articles dans la presse, des reportages audio-visuels, des nouveaux records du monde. Depuis quelques années, la presse en parle chaque hiver et l'engouement des gens ne cesse d'augmenter. J'ai moi-même été interviewé pour le magazine Générations (à découvrir ici) ! De plus en plus de curieux s'essaient à cette pratique, avec plus ou moins de succès. En solo ou entre amis, avec son prof de yoga ou en suivant un tuto Youtube.
 

Tout se dit, tout se raconte, mais qu'en est-il vraiment ?

DSC00091.JPG

C'est quoi le bain froid ?

C'est avant tout une pratique sociale, ça se pratique en groupe et même si pratiquer seul n'est pas interdit cela nécessite certaines connaissances sur le fonctionnement de son corps.

Pour comprendre comment bien se sécuriser.

Ce sera l'objectif de la première session de l'initiation et de sa vidéo de théorie.

A l'issue de cette première session, vous saurez pourquoi 1 minute par degré ce n'est pas un protocole de sécurité suffisant. Nous verrons ensemble d'autres repères physiologiques qui permettent de graduer la durée et la force de votre baignade.

pictos bain froid.png

Mais on risque de tomber malade ?!

Le froid ne rend pas malade. Il pousse les gens à s'enfermer dans des espaces confinés et à 22 degrés. A cette température, on favorise la transmission des germes, et les habits en laine gardent mieux l'humidité, permettant ainsi une meilleure propagation. Plus on a de couches, plus on offre un nid douillet aux germes en tout genre. De plus, l'hiver (saison de repos selon la nature...) le stress du travail et le manque de soleil favorisent les états déprimés qui affaiblissent la réponse immunitaire.

Par contre, découvrir sa peau un matin d'hiver ensoleillé favorise la production de vitamine D et les UV éliminent les pathogènes à la surface de la peau.

Le faire en groupe favorise la production de sérotonine et d'autres neurohormones. Quant au bain froid, lui il renforce le système immunitaire. Ce sera le sujet de la seconde vidéo et de la deuxième session.

DSC00125.JPG

Chaque personne est psychiquement et physiologiquement différente. Et si le cours est donné en groupe, c'est parce que le groupe est important. Le bain froid exige un certain lâcher-prise sur ses a priori, ses croyances, ses capacités. C'est pour ça aussi qu'il aide à régler des états post-traumatiques "Légende perso". Notre cœur est un organe qui se rythme avec nos états psychiques. Apprendre à le calmer, c'est apprendre à se maîtriser. Comment ça marche ? Ce sera le sujet de notre troisième session.

Moi j'en suis incapable !!!

les6pictos4.png

Méditation

La quatrième session sera dédiée au système nerveux, à la méditation, au mindset. Une sortie bain froid n'est pas complète sans ce moment particulier. La méditation en situation de froid est une méditation particulière, mais après 4 jours à vous adapter et à apprendre vous serez suffisamment prêts pour cette expérience. Le cinquième jour lui sera là pour me montrer que vous n'avez plus besoin de moi.

DSC09965.JPG

Un peu d'histoire

Le Bain froid est pratiqué depuis toujours, ne serait-ce que parce que l'eau chaude au robinet est un confort arrivé dans les années 60. Tout au long de l'histoire, prendre un bain chaud est considéré comme un luxe.

En 377 avant J.-C., Hippocrate enseigne déjà à ses élèves les vertus de l'alternance du chaud et du froid en fonction de l'état du patient.

A Rome, les premiers thermes sont froids. C'est avec l'avènement de la Rome impériale que les thermes chaud et froid font leur apparition et avec cette révolution le développement des maladies comme la lèpre. L'hygiène est très importante pour les romains mais eau chaude + grand nombre de personnes dans un même lieu et dans une même eau engendrent inévitablement la diffusion des pathogènes. Pour nous, il serait inconcevable de mettre un pied dans un therme romain tellement cela nous semblerait insalubre.

bainfroid-kneipp.webp

En Europe, les traités de médecine parlant du froid sont présents tout au long de l'histoire. La méthode change et évolue en fonction des théories médicales ( théorie des humeurs, des miasmes, etc.) et en fonction des changements de société.

Les premiers traités scientifiques sur la pratique thérapeutique du froid apparaissent vers le 18 ème siècle. C'est un Allemand, Johann Siegmund Hahn, qui va publier en 1738 "Leçon sur la puissance et l'efficacité de l'eau froide sur le corps humain, en particulier les maladies en utilisation interne et externe".

Au 19ème siècle, c'est Sébastian Kneipp, un religieux qui réussit à soigner sa tuberculose à l'aide du froid, qui va publier en 1886 "Ma cure d'eau". Cet écrit se diffusera dans toute l'Europe. Il va également fonder une clinique et ses centres vont se multiplier, faisant connaître ainsi sa méthode. Aujourd'hui, son nom est malheureusement synonyme de marque et nous sommes très loin de la pensée originelle de l'auteur.

De nos jours, bon nombre de méthodes s'enseignent; le Tummo/Toumo, la méthode Wim Hof, la méthode Kneipp, et tout un tas de choses se disent et se racontent. C'est à travers des lectures, expérimentations et expériences de ma pratique d'enseignant d'initiation au bain froid depuis 3 ans, que j'ai développé ma méthode sur 5 sessions, apportant chacune un aspect important de la pratique, afin de vous permettre d'expérimenter la méthode et ses bienfaits.

 

Ce qui compte, c'est ce que vous allez expérimenter par vous-même!

Les contres-indications à la pratique du bain froid

La pratique du froid n'est pas sans effet sur l'organisme. Autant quand un corps est en bonne santé, la pratique du froid ne pose aucun problème et est même un outil majeur de prévention. Autant dans un corps déjà fatigué par le combat contre la maladie ou un stress chronique fort, les réactions peuvent parfois être spectaculaires . Cela nécessite une vigilance accrue de ma part pour vous suivre et il nous appartient de faire tout notre possible pour que ces manifestations, ces crises de réequilibrages se passent dans les meilleures conditions.

En cas de doute sur votre état, merci de me contacter directement.

Pratique du bain froid sous supervision médicale

Toute pathologie qui nécessite une prise de médicament implique une autorisation de votre médecin pour pouvoir vous inscrire à l'initiation. Toutes ces situations personnelles doivent être signalées. Vous pouvez prendre contact avec moi pour décider ensemble d'une approche bénéfique à votre état, que ce soit en initiation ou en cabinet avec des traitements complémentaires. 

Liste de contre-indications demandant l'aval médical

  • Maladie Auto-immune

  • Diabète type 1 & 2

  • Hernie discale

  • Asthme

  • Maladie Gastro-intestinale

  • Maladie cardiaque stabilisée

  • Maladie psychique suivie
  • Antécédant de thrombose & flébite

  • Tout autre maladie chronique impliquant une prise médicamenteuse

Les contre-indications absolues

  • Traitement chimiothérapique en cous

  • Maladie chronique non suivie par un médecin
  • Système cardio-vasculaire décompensé

  • Maladie du système ventilatoire 

  • Maladie virale & bactérienne en traitement

  • Maladie psychique non suivie